Book Review – Secret Sister by Emelle Gamble

11 Aug

Secret Sister by Emelle Gamble

secret sister

Book Description

Publication Date: July 10, 2013 by Soul Mate Publishing
E-book source: NetGalley

Recommended for 18+ due to mature themes and sexual content

What if everything about you changed in an instant…
Nick & Cathy and Roxanne. Two best friends. One husband. An extraordinary twist of fate.How much do you really know about your husband? Your best friend? Yourself? Cathy Chance knows she loves her husband, Nick, with the same passion she had when she married him seven years ago, and he adores her. She also knows that she and her best friend, Roxanne, are closer than most sisters. But on a sunny summer day, these three are hurled into an astounding new reality which forces each to reconsider everything they thought was true about themselves, and one another.

My Review

StarStarStarStar

This being the first book I’ve ready by Gamble I was pleased with her writing. Secret Sister was written very well and flowed nicely. It is not one of my usual types of books to read but I was not disappointed. In life, we are constantly asking ourselves “what if?” and this story is basically just that. It is revolved around the relationship of two best friends, Cathy and Roxanne and that of a husband and wife, Nick and Cathy. And the daily “what if” questions they ask themselves after a tragic accident.

This book right from the start hits you with the big guns, POW!! The first two chapters had me wondering about so many different things. I was instantly sad and thinking WOW! It’s hard to put into words my feelings for this book. I believe Gamble wanted me to feel sad, angry betrayal, longing and then finally love. Which I felt but not until I was half way through and once those emotions started going it became a riveting story! There were so many emotional twists towards the end.

I loved how Gamble portrayed the grieving process for those who love one another and of course how differently people can approach such situations. Though this story is considered a romance it’s not your typical romance, which I enjoyed. I personally felt it was more about being in love and the lengths you would go to, to be with that person. Rather than the steamy sex scenes most romance novels have these days. (Not that that’s a bad thing). Gamble also wrote the characters and there intertwined relationships really well. And let’s not forget the major twist of what the title really means. I did not see that one coming.

Without providing any spoilers…over all it was a good story. If you enjoy extremely emotional books give this one a try.

Read the first chapter HERE!

Goodreads Amazon button

Check out the book trailer at YouTube…enjoy! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JqOidu_yXVE 

To find out more about Emelle Gamble and her other projects click HERE!

2 Responses to “Book Review – Secret Sister by Emelle Gamble”

  1. Emelle Gamble August 12, 2013 at 7:16 am #

    Thanks so much, Maggie, for this lovely and generous review! this was the book of my heart…one I wanted to share because I do believe in soul mates! I’m thrilled you enjoyed it. Please come by my Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/Emelle.Gamble . If you or any of your readers are interested in advance news about upcoming books, sign up for my Newsletter. You’ll be entered to win a new Amazon Paperwhite! Thanks again, Maggie.

    • entirelybooks August 12, 2013 at 8:57 pm #

      Thank you Emelle. You know when I started this blog i just wanted to share my thoughts on all the books I read. Never did I think I would get comments from the authors! Awesome 🙂 I’m so happy I read your book and I hope my followers give it a try. Thank you again for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

pratr.wordpress.com/

Bringing You The Romance!

Mrs Natalie Graham

I’ve come here to chew bubblegum and kick ass but I’m all out of bubblegum! Besides asskicking and bubblegum chewing, I like to write fairy tales for big girls.

jessielanebooks.wordpress.com/

Best-Selling Romance Author

Fire and Ice Book Tours - Book Promotion for Indie & Traditionally Published Authors

You wrote the book... now let us promote it! Schedule a Book Tour today.

Indie BookSpot

Indie publishing and book news, reviews & interviews

reading past my bedtime

Sometimes finishing a good book is worth staying up past your bedtime

Pretty Girls Read Books

This Good Feeling of Reading

Welcome to Anita's Den

We keep it dirty here.

The Day Dreamer & Candy Eater

Dreaming, Munching and Reading...

Reading Renee

No matter your mood, there’s a great book to suit it.

Lipsyy Lost & Found

Judging books by their covers since the 90s

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Jalpa Williby

Author of Chaysing Dreams

Boricuan Bookworms

Reviews from an Island in the Caribbean.

Kim Harrison

Don't Let The Blond Hair Fool You

Biblio Belles

Book Nerds have moved. Visit us at http://bibliobelles.com

