R. Jean Wilson (Author of Clementine) – – Interview and Giveaway

18 Aug

Today I am happy to share my very first Q & A author interview with you.  I was very excited while putting this all together. Today’s interview is with R. Jean Wilson author of her debut novel Clementine.

clementine banner

Let’s all welcome her and see what she had to say!

_______________________________________

EB: What were you like at school? 

RJW: I made good grades in high school and college but I could definitely be classified as a ‘Jack of all trades, master of none.’ I changed my major so many times and  at various points I wanted to be a doctor, architect, & graphic designer. Ha!

EB: Were you good at English? 

RJW: I did well in English and loved my English Lit. class in college, unfortunately I never took a creative writing class and had no clue what hidden obsession I had stowed away beneath the surface.

EB: What are your ambitions for your writing career? 

RJW: I get asked this a lot and it’s tough because I’m sort of living two separate lives. I work in graphic design by day and write at night. I would love to split my time between both and make that my full time job.

EB: Which writers inspire you?   

RJW: J.D. Salinger, Jonathan Safran Foer, Mindy Kaling, & Alice Clayton.

EB: So, what have you written?

RJW: My debut novel, Clementine and I’m currently working on a YA Sci-Fi Fantasy/Action/Romance (ha! One book can fall into all those genres, right?)

EB: How did you come up with the title?

RJW: Clementine is an old nickname and I knew I wanted to name my book that before I even had a full plot lined out. Also, music is such a creative inspiration for me and I fell in love with a song called “Clementine”, by Sarah Jaffe a few years ago. Everything seemed to fit. 🙂

EB: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp? 

RJW: The very simple message at the root of the book is about the possibilities of fate and destiny.

EB: How much of the book is realistic? 

RJW: I attempted to make my book as realistic as possible. This may seem strange since it’s a work fiction, but I wanted the main character to be simple and relate-able. I purposely used locations around Austin readers would recognize because I wanted them to connect to the story. Addison didn’t have a troubled childhood or emotional issues to work through because that wasn’t what the story was about. I wanted the readers to catch a glimpse into the inner workings of fate.

EB: If realistic, are the experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life? 

RJW: Every date that Addison went on, I’ve had the pleasure of experiencing. My current boyfriend made me jump off a bridge on our first date and I’ve been smiling ever since. 

EB: Where can we buy or see them? (* include American, European and any other relevant links. Free, free promotions or prices can be included)

http://www.amazon.com/Clementine-ebook/dp/B00E7GSMOE/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1375459997&sr=8-1&keywords=clementine+r.+jean+wilson
EB: What are your thoughts on good/bad reviews?  

RJW: When I read my first bad review on Goodreads I completely broke down. Because, of course, it wasn’t a simple “oh, this book wasn’t for me.” She ripped my book to pieces and then spit it back out. I had a full hour of thinking “What the hell is the point?”, I told my BF that night “No one walks into your engineering office and says “Wow, you’re a crappy engineer.” It’s a strange feeling, but I moved past it and now I actually thrive off of every form of feedback.

EB: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers? 

RJW: I really do love my readers. I think often times, people think their positive reviews or simple comments go unnoticed, but those little spurts of kindness keep me going! It’s such a surreal feeling when people connect with characters and worlds you’ve created.

EB: How can readers discover more about you and you work? 

RJW: Instagram and Facebook are great ways to stay in touch.

Instagram: Imaginetherest 

https://www.facebook.com/R.JeanWilson

Wilson 2

About the Author:

Graphic Design Assistant by day. Author of NA & YA Fiction by night. I graduated from the University of Texas where I studied everything from Microbiology to Architecture & Society… So, yeah, I ended up with a lot of extra credits.

My quote to live by: Eat Cake for Breakfast.

I love taking my black lab Ollie to the hiking trail, exploring Austin, & baking gluten free treats.

_______________________________________

Check out my review of Clementine HERE and don’t forget to enter the Giveaway HERE!

Raffelcopter

Thank you R. Jean Wilson for interview and to everyone else for stopping by!

3 Responses to “R. Jean Wilson (Author of Clementine) – – Interview and Giveaway”

  1. Christine August 28, 2013 at 6:52 am #

    Love the interview questions! Do you have requirements for who you interview? I apologise, I couldn’t find a contact email?

    • entirelybooks August 28, 2013 at 8:33 pm #

      No need to apologize. I’ve been meaning to add my contact info. To answer your question, no I don’t really have any requirements for the people I interview. R. Jean Wilson just so happens to be the first author and I do have another interview coming soon. I would like to read the book before interview the author so that the questions I ask makes sense. LOL And I just added the “Contact me!” page, so feel free to send me any specific questions you have. Thank you for asking! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. *Guest Post & Giveaway* Clementine by R. Jean Wilson | Dr. Pepper Diva - September 5, 2013

    […] R. Jean Wilson (Author of Clementine) – – Interview and Giveaway (entirelybooks.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

pratr.wordpress.com/

Bringing You The Romance!

Mrs Natalie Graham

I’ve come here to chew bubblegum and kick ass but I’m all out of bubblegum! Besides asskicking and bubblegum chewing, I like to write fairy tales for big girls.

jessielanebooks.wordpress.com/

Best-Selling Romance Author

Fire and Ice Book Tours - Book Promotion for Indie & Traditionally Published Authors

You wrote the book... now let us promote it! Schedule a Book Tour today.

Indie BookSpot

Indie publishing and book news, reviews & interviews

reading past my bedtime

Sometimes finishing a good book is worth staying up past your bedtime

Pretty Girls Read Books

This Good Feeling of Reading

Welcome to Anita's Den

We keep it dirty here.

The Day Dreamer & Candy Eater

Dreaming, Munching and Reading...

Reading Renee

No matter your mood, there’s a great book to suit it.

Lipsyy Lost & Found

Judging books by their covers since the 90s

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Jalpa Williby

Author of Chaysing Dreams

Boricuan Bookworms

Reviews from an Island in the Caribbean.

Kim Harrison

Don't Let The Blond Hair Fool You

Biblio Belles

Book Nerds have moved. Visit us at http://bibliobelles.com

