Author Interview – Jennifer Raygoza

10 Sep

Today I am pleased to share with you a Q & A interview with Jennifer Raygoza author of debut novel The Guardians: A Vampire Novel (Volume 1). Read on to find out more about her and her upcoming books!

The Guardians (2)

Book Description

Publication Date: March 25, 2013
The Guardians is a compelling tale focused on love, pain and sacrifice. The battle of good versus evil. The question is who will win.Gianna Botticelli is the daughter to a Los Angeles Mafia boss. Although content working for her father, she mentally struggles with her mother’s death—and life choices after her passing. But everything she knows will change when she meets the sexy, mysterious Caleb.Who is he? What is he? How does he know things? Gianna finds herself struggling with her feelings for him—and the sacrifices she will have to make as Caleb introduces her to a world unknown. Will she have to sacrifice herself to save everyone and everything?

Sexy and entertaining, this book is for mature vampire lovers. I challenge you not to fall in love with Gianna and Caleb.

WARNING: This book contains violence, adult language, and passionate love scenes.

Lets see what she had to say…

_____________________________

EB: Please provide me with a little about yourself, your background and why you decided to write a book:

JR: I have always wanted to write a book, but never knew where to start . I used to write poetry growing up as a way to get my emotions out. I love vampires movies but had never read any books. One day I read a Vampire book and said I can do this. I want to write a book that people cant put down where its just enough to want more.

EB: What are your ambitions for your writing career?

JR: I would love to keep writing novels. I am hoping to release three more books within the next two years. I want to touch on story lines that are outside of the box after I get done with this series of my vamp books.

EB: Which writers inspire you?

JR: I think every book I read leaves something for me. It makes me look at my own writing and possibly improve. I cant pin point one author at this time because I am trying to read books that are outside of my genre liking but I have read some amazing books.

EB: Do you have a good support system?

JR: My husband is a great supporter. I have also met some nice authors that we can turn to each other for questions.

EB: What is your writing routine?

JR: I have to write when its quiet, sometimes I need music to inspire a scene. I usually get my water and a snack and then I hammer it out. I don’t do too much outlining. I just let everything come to my head and I try to write some scenes on paper so I don’t forget.

EB: As a reader what do you like to see in a good book? What things do you consider disgustingly cliché, and what makes you toss a book aside in frustration?

JR: I love when the book is well rounded. It must have drama, action, sex, romance and some great quotes that make me laugh once in awhile or blush. I hate overdone sex scenes where things are impossible. Erotica books can numb you after awhile. You get almost bored. I wont get graphic but sometimes I am like really. I also do not like reading books where everyone speaks proper. In life we stumble on words, we stutter, we interrupt conversations; we use a lot of slang. I want to feel like I’m reading about real people. Clichés for me are the mean girl scenarios and popular girl who falls in love with a bad boy and she changes all of a sudden.

EB: The Guardians was published on March 25Th, how long did it take you to write? 

JR: I wrote it on and off for five years.

EB: What was the toughest part of putting this book together?

JR: Ha ha the editing. No doubt about it.

EB: How did you come up with the title?

JR:  It just stuck. I have no idea where it came from. One day it popped into my head.

EB: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

JR: I hope they find strength and inspiration in Gianna. She is very tough.

EB: Give us an insight into your main character. What does he/she do that is so special to you?

JR: Like I said Gianna-my main character is so tough and so vulnerable at the same time. I love that about her. I have Caleb who is her love interest in the story and at first he is always so calm and collected, but you eventually see him unravel here and there because of her.

EB: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

JR: I have learned so much with this being my first book. I learned how to properly go down the line on my next book when it comes to editing. I learned how to market and promote my book. I also learned what my readers like and don’t.

EB: How much of the book is realistic or personal?

JR: This is a fantasy book, but Gianna the main character is a lot like me when I was young. Certain characters personal ties may reflect some real life people I have known, but other then that this is a fun book and that’s it.

EB:  What do you do to get book reviews?

JR: I offer giveaways on my FB page. If fans tell me they loved the book. I ask them to tell the world by doing a review for the book.

EB: How successful has your quest for reviews been so far?

JR: Not bad. I think I am close to thirty so far. I am not sure what success is when it comes to the number of reviews, but I am happy

EB: Do you have a strategy for finding reviewers?

JR: My fan page has been good to me, but I have also asked for reviews on Goodreads.

EB: Do you read reviews of your books? If so, do you pay any attention to them, or let them influence your writing?

JR: I do. I read them all. I take what I can from them and toss out the rest. You have to realize that you can’t please everyone, and that was the hardest thing to deal with at first, the critics.

EB: Do you have any advice for other aspiring writers?

JR: Do it, write it and make sure you have a good editor.

EB: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

JR: I appreciate their support. They are so good to me.

EB: Which question are you most sick of answering in interviews?

JR: Who is my favorite author?

EB: Is there anything else you would like to add that I haven’t included?

JR: No, I think you did a pretty good job.

EB: What are you working on now? (Release date?)

JR: I am working on The Guardians II and also a story called Shall Fear None. The Guardians II will hopefully be out by Christmas 2013 and Shall Fear None sometime next year.

EB: How can readers discover more about you and your work?

JR: The official website for the book is http://theguardiansvampnovel.webs.com/    Fans can also like the official Facebook fan page at https://www.facebook.com/theguardiansvampnovel The book if available for purchase at Amazon http://amzn.com/B00C13CKVG

Goodreads

JR

 About the Author

Jennifer Raygoza was born in Riverside, California.
She attended Fullerton College with a Major in Psychology.
She lives with her husband and two children in Corona, California.

“I have always wanted to write a book that readers would love. I spent a lot of my High school years writing poetry, but never had the nerve to put a story down with pen and pad. I hope everyone enjoys the story as much as I did writing it”

Thank you Jennifer Raygoza for the interview and to everyone else for stopping by! 🙂

Leave a Reply

pratr.wordpress.com/

Bringing You The Romance!

Mrs Natalie Graham

I’ve come here to chew bubblegum and kick ass but I’m all out of bubblegum! Besides asskicking and bubblegum chewing, I like to write fairy tales for big girls.

jessielanebooks.wordpress.com/

Best-Selling Romance Author

Fire and Ice Book Tours - Book Promotion for Indie & Traditionally Published Authors

You wrote the book... now let us promote it! Schedule a Book Tour today.

Indie BookSpot

Indie publishing and book news, reviews & interviews

reading past my bedtime

Sometimes finishing a good book is worth staying up past your bedtime

Pretty Girls Read Books

This Good Feeling of Reading

Welcome to Anita's Den

We keep it dirty here.

The Day Dreamer & Candy Eater

Dreaming, Munching and Reading...

Reading Renee

No matter your mood, there’s a great book to suit it.

Lipsyy Lost & Found

Judging books by their covers since the 90s

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Jalpa Williby

Author of Chaysing Dreams

Boricuan Bookworms

Reviews from an Island in the Caribbean.

Kim Harrison

Don't Let The Blond Hair Fool You

Biblio Belles

Book Nerds have moved. Visit us at http://bibliobelles.com

