Author Interview – Wren Figueiro

15 Sep

Today I am pleased to share with you yet another Q & A interview with debut author Wren Figueiro.  I was lucky to meet such a humble person. She sought me out on Facebook to see if I would be interested in reading her book for a review.

Let me formally welcome Ms. Wren Figueiro author of Atancia, a young adult paranormal romance. It is the first book of The Durand Duology,

Atancia (The Durand Duology, #1)

Book Description

Publication Date: August 6, 2013
 
After watching a young boy die, college freshman Atancia Clark begins to have panic attacks. Her heart flutters, her breath catches and she can’t control her emotions the way she always has. She wants to be strong, but lately she just hasn’t been living up to her own expectations. When she meets Ben Althaus, her breath starts catching for entirely different reasons. He helps Atancia discover the cause for her odd emotional reactions and the history she thought was lost when her mother left her. Atancia has power beyond that of an average girl, and Ben is by no means ordinary. He wants to help her hone her talents, but her focus is threatened by life-altering events. Add Ben’s entrancing brother, Matthew, to the mix, and Atancia’s lack of clarity could lead her down a destructive path.

 Review coming soon…

__________________________________

Lets see what she had to say….

__________________________________

EB: Please provide me with a little about yourself, your background and why you decided to write a book:

WF: I was born in Lima, Peru and moved to Miami when I was seven. I’ve always loved to write. When I was little I would fill out composition notebooks with stories and (very bad) illustrations. When I got to college I decided to major in writing, but after I graduated, I ended up working in a completely different field. I decided to write a book because I wanted to prove to myself that I could do it.

EB: What are your ambitions for your writing career?

WF: To become a better writer. This was my first attempt at a novel, and I am fully aware that it has flaws that I can’t even see yet. I hope to improve as time goes by.

EB: Which writers inspire you?

WF: J.K. Rowling, Ray Bradbury, Paulo Coelho, Cassandra Clare, Tammara Webber, just to name a very few.

EB: Do you have a good support system?

WF: Yes, my family is very supportive.

EB: What is your writing routine?

WF: I wish I could have one! I don’t have many hours available to write during the week, but when I get a couple I usually just sit down and get as much done as I can. I lock myself away so it’s quiet, and I just write. During the day, when I’m busy, I have a notebook where I jot down every idea, dialogue, plot twist or anything else that pops in my mind before forgetting it.

EB: As a reader what do you like to see in a good book?

WF: Unpredictability. I love it when I can’t guess what’s going to happen in a story.

EB: What things do you consider disgustingly cliché, and what makes you toss a book aside in frustration?

WF: Lack of visual clarity. I’ve read books where the imagery changes half way through the description and the vision I had in my mind of what’s going on gets blurry and confused. It can prevent me from moving forward or truly enjoying the story. As for cliché, I’d have to say that’s when authors attempt to describe characters by placing them in contrived social categories rather than showing what kind of people they are. Human beings are too complex to be shoved into neat boxes.

EB: Atancia was published on August 6th, how long did it take you to write? 

WF:  It took me a year to write it and another 6 months to edit it.

EB: What was the toughest part of putting this book together? 

WF: Definitely the editing.

EB: How did you come up with the title?

WF: It is the main character’s name and the definition of it is given towards the end of the novel. I can tell you what it is if you want to know before reading it 🙂

EB: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

WF: That people aren’t always what they seem.

EB: Give us an insight into your main character. What does he/she do that is so special to you?

WF: She is vulnerable and doesn’t always make the wisest decisions, but that is what will help her grow. People like to think that characters are always strong and do the right thing, but sometimes it takes a few mistakes to get there.

EB: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

WF: That it’s okay to change my mind, and it’s okay to make mistakes. And even more, that constructive criticism really can make me better. (I wasn’t particularly fond of it before 😉

EB: How much of the book is realistic or personal?

WF: Most of the parts where Atancia is being a complete dork. I used to be easily flustered, it’s gotten better as I’ve gotten older.

EB: If realistic or personal, are the experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

WF: There are a few scenes that are based on my life, but mostly just the backgrounds. The story is very much fictional.

EB: What do you do to get book reviews?

WF: I search for reviewers who like to read this style of novel on Amazon, Goodreads, and other sites, and I email them.

EB: How successful has your quest for reviews been so far?

WF: I get a response from maybe 1 out of 5, but many of them are very busy so I haven’t really gotten far yet.

EB: Do you have a strategy for finding reviewers?

WF: Not really, just search as much as possible.

EB: Do you read reviews of your books? If so, do you pay any attention to them, or let them influence your writing?

WF: I haven’t seen any yet, but if I do I will definitely read them because I think they could help to improve my writing. I like to think that I could pick out the constructive criticism from the plain out bashing. And if I can’t, then I’d ask someone else to point it out to me!

EB: Do you have any advice for other aspiring writers?

WF: If you want to write a book you have to just write it. Taking classes, joining clubs, all of that will help, but if you never start writing, you’ll never finish.

EB: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

WF: I hope that you enjoy Atancia and that you will tell me what I did right and what I did wrong.

EB: Which question are you most sick of answering in interviews?

WF: None yet 🙂

EB: Is there anything else you would like to add that I haven’t included?

WF: Just thank you for taking the time to take a look at Atancia.

EB: What are you working on now? (Release date?)

WF: The conclusion of The Durand Duology. I’m hoping to have it finished and edited before next summer.

EB: How can readers discover more about you and your work?

WF: You can reach me through my Amazon author page or at http://www.facebook.com/Atancia

 About the Author

via Goodreads
 

As a child, I was often kept up at night by an overactive imagination. When I got to college, I decided to study writing so I could put that imagination to better use. I am an avid reader and rarely let a week go by without finishing at least two books. I love the way that books allow passage into other people’s thoughts and let me see how they view the world. Though I have been writing stories as long as I can remember, Atancia is my first novel.

 

become a fan of posada la merced on facebook Goodreads 

Thank you Wren for the interview and to everyone else for stopping by! 😉

3 Responses to “Author Interview – Wren Figueiro”

  1. Conchy Tariche-Valderrama September 15, 2013 at 11:13 am #

    Great interview! The book is fantastic. Can’t wait for the second one

    • entirelybooks September 15, 2013 at 11:25 am #

      Thank you Conchy! Trying to get her some notice. I don’t believe anyone has posted any reviews of the book yet which I’m sure you know will help her out a lot. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Book Review – Atancia by Wren Figueiro | Entirely Books - November 2, 2013

    […] Author Interview – Wren Figueiro (entirelybooks.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

pratr.wordpress.com/

Bringing You The Romance!

Mrs Natalie Graham

I’ve come here to chew bubblegum and kick ass but I’m all out of bubblegum! Besides asskicking and bubblegum chewing, I like to write fairy tales for big girls.

jessielanebooks.wordpress.com/

Best-Selling Romance Author

Fire and Ice Book Tours - Book Promotion for Indie & Traditionally Published Authors

You wrote the book... now let us promote it! Schedule a Book Tour today.

Indie BookSpot

Indie publishing and book news, reviews & interviews

reading past my bedtime

Sometimes finishing a good book is worth staying up past your bedtime

Pretty Girls Read Books

This Good Feeling of Reading

Welcome to Anita's Den

We keep it dirty here.

The Day Dreamer & Candy Eater

Dreaming, Munching and Reading...

Reading Renee

No matter your mood, there’s a great book to suit it.

Lipsyy Lost & Found

Judging books by their covers since the 90s

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Jalpa Williby

Author of Chaysing Dreams

Boricuan Bookworms

Reviews from an Island in the Caribbean.

Kim Harrison

Don't Let The Blond Hair Fool You

Biblio Belles

Book Nerds have moved. Visit us at http://bibliobelles.com

