Tiny Steps, Giant Leap!

19 Sep

I work in a busy medical office, Neurology to be specific. For the past few months I’ve had to leave the office late due to the change in computer program. Every night before I leave I look over the waiting room to make sure no one was left behind. About two weeks ago as I was making my rounds I noticed six people still waiting. One of the doctors was running extremely late so instead of leaving I stayed for a little chat with the patients.

There was an elderly lady waiting to be seen with her son, daughter-in-law and caregiver. There was also a young boy about 13 years old watching his little brother Adam, 2 years old while his mother was with the doctor. As I chatted with the couple the little boy was walking around touching everything but not talking. This little boy was beyond cute. Big for a two year old. His older brother was two steps behind him the entire time. As I’m having a conversation the couple little boy comes up to me and lifts his hands up and smiles. I took this as he wanted to be held, so I carried him and asked him how he was doing. I told him how handsome and big he was and he smiled at me. He squirmed a few minutes later so I put him back down. 20 minutes later I leave the office and head home not thinking twice about the incident.

Today the daughter-in-law, who just to happens to be a pharmaceutical representative who comes to my office regularly, tell me what happened after I left that evening.  The mother of the child come out of the doctor’s office and her older son told her what the little boy did. That he reached up for me to carry him and how he smiled while I spoke to him. And the mother began to cry. The woman (Rep) asked the mother why she was crying and she said, you see my son is autistic and he’s never done that before.

I was having a horrible day and when she told me this story it truly made my day! It’s an awesome feeling to be able to make such a small difference in someone’s life especially a child.

If you walk into a room full of adults everyone tries to avoid looking anyone in the eye. But if there’s a baby or small child, someone always looks at them, comments about them even asks questions about them. Children have a way of bringing out the best in people and I was fortunate enough to have met and shared this precious moment with little Adam.

Make a differnce

Autism links:

2 Responses to “Tiny Steps, Giant Leap!”

  1. Jalpa Williby September 19, 2013 at 10:04 pm #

    I love this. I work with autistic kids and adults many times in my line of work. ❤

    • entirelybooks September 19, 2013 at 10:09 pm #

      I don’t have a lot of autistic patients. I do have a cousin who has a severe case, he’s 18 years old. Doesn’t do well in social settings. This brightened my day that’s for sure!

Leave a Reply

pratr.wordpress.com/

Bringing You The Romance!

Mrs Natalie Graham

I’ve come here to chew bubblegum and kick ass but I’m all out of bubblegum! Besides asskicking and bubblegum chewing, I like to write fairy tales for big girls.

jessielanebooks.wordpress.com/

Best-Selling Romance Author

Fire and Ice Book Tours - Book Promotion for Indie & Traditionally Published Authors

You wrote the book... now let us promote it! Schedule a Book Tour today.

Indie BookSpot

Indie publishing and book news, reviews & interviews

reading past my bedtime

Sometimes finishing a good book is worth staying up past your bedtime

Pretty Girls Read Books

This Good Feeling of Reading

Welcome to Anita's Den

We keep it dirty here.

The Day Dreamer & Candy Eater

Dreaming, Munching and Reading...

Reading Renee

No matter your mood, there’s a great book to suit it.

Lipsyy Lost & Found

Judging books by their covers since the 90s

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Jalpa Williby

Author of Chaysing Dreams

Boricuan Bookworms

Reviews from an Island in the Caribbean.

Kim Harrison

Don't Let The Blond Hair Fool You

Biblio Belles

Book Nerds have moved. Visit us at http://bibliobelles.com

