Interview ~ Joanne Schwehm Author of Unexpected Chance

10 Dec

unexpected chance

New Synopsis

Publication Date: October 29, 2013 

**Due to adult language and content, 18+ only, please.**

Always wanting to be a writer, but not having much experience with men or romance, Aubrey sets out to find her inspiration with the help of her best friend. Just when she thinks all hope is lost, she meets Alex Logan. He’s beyond handsome, well dressed, and is known to be a player—perfect for the role.The unexpected happens and Alex becomes more than just an inspiration to Aubrey, but a misunderstanding leaves her heartbroken. Before an opportunity arises to straighten things out, tragedy strikes, and Aubrey’s world is turned upside down.

While Aubrey is trying to cope with her new life, a new chance at love arises. Can she find it in her to trust again? Will Alex be able to win her back? Or will she take this new unexpected chance at love?

Goodreads

New Trailer

Check out the trailer created by Abby Porter Cook

Unexpected Chance by Joanne Schwehm.

New Interview

EB: Please provide me with a little about yourself, your background and why you decided to write a book, including something people might be surprised to learn.

JAS:  I am a wife and mom before anything else. I love sports and one of my favorite shows to watch is SportsCenter. I studied theater and never dreamt of being a writer. I would write poems or little passages, but never for anyone’s eyes but my own. My family didn’t know I wrote Unexpected Chance, until I was ready to send it to editing.  What would be surprising to learn about me, is that I never enjoyed reading. It was forced upon me in school and I dreaded it. Then I got into romance novels and now, I can’t stop reading. 

EB: What are your ambitions for your writing career?

JAS:  My ambition is to have readers enjoy my books as much as I enjoy writing them. I would love to see my stories come to life. 

EB: Which writers inspire you?

JAS:  That’s a tough question. EL James inspired me, because she got me reading again which lead me to writing. I like writers that go all out. I enjoy Madeline Sheehan because of that. She writes what she wants to write and I love that about her. 

EB: Do you have a good support system?

JAS:  Yes,  I have a wonderful support system which starts at home with my family. My friends, other authors and bloggers have also been wonderful. It’s amazing what a little encouragement and faith can do.

EB: What is your writing routine?

JAS:  I sit on my comfy couch or bed, turn on my music and write. There are scenes I write with my eyes closed; it’s generally the scenes with a lot of drama or angst. I just feel it differently if my eyes are closed.

EB: As a reader what do you like to see in a good book? What things do you consider disgustingly cliché, and what makes you toss a book aside in frustration?

JAS:  A good book to me has an actual story with character development. I like an intriguing story, one with a twist that makes you think. I don’t like books that have weak women in them.

EB: Unexpected Chance  was published on October 31st , how long did it take you to write? 

JAS:  I started writing Unexpected Chance in April, 2013. I had a dream one night about this man, who we now know as Alex Logan and this woman, Aubrey Ryan and how they met. I woke up and started writing my dream down in a notebook. From that day forward, Alex and Aubrey have been talking to me. I know that sounds crazy, but it’s true. I finished writing Unexpected Chance at the end of July.

 EB: What was the toughest part of putting this book together? 

JAS:   The toughest part was making sure it flowed correctly. I didn’t write from an outline, aside from my initial notes, I wrote from my head. 

EB: How did you come up with the title?

JAS:  The title was a difficult task. I had a few that I liked and then I went online to book sites to see what had already been used and what hadn’t been.  But, when you think of an unexpected chance, it does come around; it’s what you do with it that makes a difference. This book was my unexpected chance. 

EB: Was there any hesitance before you decided to hit the “publish” button?

JAS:  I felt completely nauseous. I’m sure I drove my friends crazy. I didn’t want to hit that button. It was the most terrifying thing I have ever done. 

EB: How would you describe your main characters? Would you say they are the same/different from you?

JAS:  Aubrey Ryan is a smart young woman, who aspires to be a romance novelist, but lacks romance in her life. She’s guarded and cautious. She worries a lot and has some anxiety issues. She doesn’t see herself as others do; she lacks confidence. Alex Logan on the other hand is completely the opposite. He is self-assured, a player, an extremely handsome man and a great guy. If I had to compare myself to one of them, it would be Aubrey. 

EB: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

JAS:  I had to do a lot of research for this book, I would tell you what that was, but what would be a spoiler. Let’s say this, I learned that more than ever you can’t take life or people for granted. 

EB: How much of the book is realistic or personal?

JAS:  I feel it is very realistic and also personal. I think there is a little of me or someone I know in each character. 

EB: If realistic or personal, are the experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

JAS:  A little bit of both. I can only write what I know. 

EB: While you were writing, did you ever feel as if you were one of the characters?

JAS:  Actually, more than one. When I write, I can actually feel myself as the character I am writing about. It really didn’t matter if it was a male or female character. I felt them all. 

EB: What is your favorite scene in the novel?

JAS It would probably be when they met. It was very unexpected. 

EB: Do you have a strategy for finding reviewers?

JAS:  No, not really. Since I am new, I will ask anyone and everyone to review my novel. I follow so many blogs and respect them all. It’s hard work and I value all their opinions. 

EB: Do you read reviews of your books? If so, do you pay any attention to them, or let them influence your writing?

JAS:  I do read them and pay attention. I don’t really let them influence my writing. 

EB: Do you have any advice for other aspiring writers?

JAS:  If you want it do it; take the chance. 

EB: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

JAS:  Thank you for taking a chance on a new author. 

EB: Which question are you most sick of answering in interviews?

JAS:  None. 

EB: Is there anything else you would like to add that I haven’t included?

JAS Not really, I think you covered it.

EB: What are you working on now? (Release date?)

JAS:  I am working on book 2 to conclude the Chance Series. I am hoping to release it in the first week of February. I will also be announcing the title soon. I had one selected, but that has since changed. J

EB: How can readers discover more about you and your work?

JAS:  I update my Facebook account regularly. I am currently working on my website as well. Readers can always message me and I will reply as soon as I can.

New author bio

joanne

Originally from Rochester, New York, Joanne Schwehm now lives in Northern Virginia with her husband Dave, her two teenage boys; Nick and Zack and her cute Bichon, Torre, who is aptly nicknamed “Mommy’s White Shadow”. It’s a good thing Torre only barks, or she could give away many secrets! Joanne loves spending time with her family and friends. She enjoys meeting new people, traveling, relaxing on a beach and shopping….especially for shoes…she has a bit of a fetish. She is an avid sports fan and loves the New York Yankees and the Dallas Cowboys. She also enjoys playing and watching golf.

New author links

 GR FacebookButton  Twitter-icon Amazon button

New purchase links

 

Join us this evening!

banner

Leave a Reply

pratr.wordpress.com/

Bringing You The Romance!

Mrs Natalie Graham

I’ve come here to chew bubblegum and kick ass but I’m all out of bubblegum! Besides asskicking and bubblegum chewing, I like to write fairy tales for big girls.

jessielanebooks.wordpress.com/

Best-Selling Romance Author

Fire and Ice Book Tours - Book Promotion for Indie & Traditionally Published Authors

You wrote the book... now let us promote it! Schedule a Book Tour today.

Indie BookSpot

Indie publishing and book news, reviews & interviews

reading past my bedtime

Sometimes finishing a good book is worth staying up past your bedtime

Pretty Girls Read Books

This Good Feeling of Reading

Welcome to Anita's Den

We keep it dirty here.

The Day Dreamer & Candy Eater

Dreaming, Munching and Reading...

Reading Renee

No matter your mood, there’s a great book to suit it.

Lipsyy Lost & Found

Judging books by their covers since the 90s

Book Gossips

We are four cousins hailing from Australia. Love of books runs in our family and we have decided to share our exhilirating gossip sessions with you. Here you can find book reviews from multiple genres, bringing you the best of buzz worthy popular fiction.

Jalpa Williby

Author of Chaysing Dreams

Boricuan Bookworms

Reviews from an Island in the Caribbean.

Kim Harrison

Don't Let The Blond Hair Fool You

Biblio Belles

Book Nerds have moved. Visit us at http://bibliobelles.com

